Learn what others have to say about Volunteer West Africa...
Scroll this Section for our Sector-leading Volunteer Feedback:
 
Partner West Africa works tirelessly to monitor and improve our effectiveness in relation to the projects we implement and the volunteers who give up their time, energy and money to work on our programmes with us. But you don't have to take our word for it, when looking for clear and honest data about the PWA volunteering experience, there's a whole host of ways that you can hear directly from our past volunteers...
 
We ask every PWA volunteer to complete a detailed de-brief, at the end of their volunteer placement, in which they openly appraise their time with us with a senior member of staff. Any complaints, problems, or recommendations for improvement are used to constantly check and improve the service we offer. However, as the following data demonstrates, our volunteers clearly have very little to complain about! To our knowledge, PWA's internal volunteering department 'Volunteer West Africa' is proud to be the only volunteer-led NGO which has a 100% rating in past volunteer recommendations (see survey data below: applies to 2015 survey results).
 
 
Ways you can hear from past 'Volunteer West Africa' Volunteers:
  • Many volunteers write our team letters of thank you, stories, or testimonies about their experience with us which we always publish openly and in full for you to read. You will find these on our What Past VWA Volunteers Say Page
  • Many volunteers publish thank you's, testimonies and reviews across our various social media sites. Of particular note, 'Volunteer West Africa' currently holds a 4.9 out of 5 star rating from over 50 volunteers who have reviewed us through the Facebook Review Tool
  • And many past 'Volunteer West Africa' volunteers are also more than happy to speak with you directly, via telephone, email or Skype, to help you decide whether or not 'Volunteer West Africa' is the right choice for you. Just contact a member of our team and we can put you in-touch with a range of relevant and helpful past Volunteer West Africa volunteers.
  • Finally, Volunteer West Africa carries out a formal Volunteer Satisfaction Survey at the close of each year in which every volunteer who joined us throughout that year is asked to provide structured feedback about our performance. In 2015, this survey was designed specifically to address four major concerns, identified by the International Eco-tourism Society, as the 4 most common criticisms which volunteers raised regarding the volunteering organisations they chose. Namely: 1) Poor accommodation, 2) Poor staff, 3) Distrust regarding how the volunteer's money was used, 4) And the sense that the work they/the organisation undertook did not prioritise the needs of the local community. 
In addition, as we ask every year, the 'Volunteer West Africa' 2015 Volunteer Satisfaction Survey asked our volunteers to answer the most important question of all... would they recommend us to you? 100% answered that they would!
 
 
The 2016 'Volunteer West Africa' Volunteer Satisfaction Survey:
 
During our 2016 'Volunteer West Africa' Volunteer Satisfaction Survey, all 'Volunteer West Africa' volunteers were asked to 'Agree', 'Disagree' or state as 'Unsure' their positions on the following five statements (the responses we received are published below each statement):
 
1.Statement:  "The Volunteer West Africa Volunteer Guest House is clean, safe, comfortable and well equipped."
Responses:  100% Agreed.
 
2.Statement:  "Volunteer West Africa staff are friendly, hard-working and welcoming" 
Responses:   95% Agreed and 5% were Unsure.
 
3.Statement:  "All money you paid or donated to Partner West Africa was clearly spent ethically & effectively."
Responses:   94% Agreed and 6% were Unsure.
 
4.Statement:  "PWA's highest priority is the children, families & communities that it supports."
Responses:   99% Agreed and 1% were Unsure.
 
5.Statement:  "You would recommend PWA's volunteering department; Volunteer West Africa to a friend." 
Responses:   97% Agreed.
 
Please Note: The above survey is still live, with some of our 2016 volunteers yet to provide responses, so we will update this daa as and when we receive the additional information.
 
 
The 2015 'Volunteer West Africa' Volunteer Satisfaction Survey:
 
During our 2015 'Volunteer West Africa' Volunteer Satisfaction Survey, all 'Volunteer West Africa' volunteers were asked to 'Agree', 'Disagree' or state as 'Unsure' their positions on the following five statements (the responses we received are published below each statement):
 
1.Statement:  "The Volunteer West Africa Volunteer Guest House is clean, safe, comfortable and well equipped."
Responses:  100% Agreed.
 
2.Statement:  "Volunteer West Africa staff are friendly, hard-working and welcoming" 
Responses:   97% Agreed and 3% were Unsure.
 
3.Statement:  "All money you paid or donated to Partner West Africa was clearly spent ethically & effectively."
Responses:   93% Agreed and 7% were Unsure.
 
4.Statement:  "PWA's highest priority is the children, families & communities that it supports."
Responses:   97% Agreed and 3% were Unsure.
 
5.Statement:  "You would recommend PWA's volunteering department; Volunteer West Africa to a friend." 
Responses:   100% Agreed.
 
So you really don't just have to take our word for it... Volunteer West Africa volunteers tell us that PWA provides a fantastic service to all of the icredible fvolunteers who join our team each year!
 
 
Hear from a Volunteer:

VWA Volunteer Annabel on: 'Would you recommend VWA?'

"PWA is a charity that works closely with the volunteer to put together a programme that suits the needs of the volunteers themselves as well as meeting the aims of the charity. Through planning meetings to decide on a detailed itinerary for the time you're spending with them, volunteers can experience all Ghana has to offer. As a college student, I was recommended to [PWA's volunteering department] Volunteer West Africa through my teaching staff... I can honestly say that VWA have met and surpassed all my expectations!
 
My group's personalised itinerary included day trips to the Kakum National park to go on the canopy walks across sections of Ghana's remaining rainforest and learning about the ecological diversity the land has to show. Cape Coast castle was another of the tourist trips we took where we learnt about Ghana's historic slave trade. On the other hand, we took a trip to Opeikuma where we meet the 'Achampi' (the deputy chief) who then later showed us around his village. When there, we visited St Peters school and donated clothes and equipment for the Special Educational Needs children who really would have benefitted from our donations. And one of the most rewarding experiences was handing out clothes at a Children's hospital in Accra; being able to see the parents as well as the children's faces when we gave them clothes was just so special. As I'm training to be a teacher, I spent time working in the daycare & nursery funded by VWA. It was amazing to see how the charity has made such a positive impact on the community by educating some of the local children. From enjoying Ghana to the hard work we did as volunteers, VWA were excellent partners!
 
The accommodation provided at VWA is what you would expect of a UK Guesthouse but in 36 degree heat. The fans will keep you cool and the fresh water will keep you clean but after a hard day's work or a trip out in to the local communities you will soon realise the absolute luxury you're living in. VWA have a Land Rover called "Llily" used to take you to and from development projects as well as to local areas eg Bars, Markets and the airport. The team ensures the highest of safety with travelling to and from destinations. For larger volunteer groups like mine, we would use Lilly as well as an air conditioned minibus or a couple of taxis. The taxies are checked for seatbelts as this isn't law in Ghana... this is the care and attention the VWA team pay.
 
Meals at the guest house are hand prepared by the staff who take care to ensure a very high standard when making African as well as western dishes. These dishes are checked against your dietary requirements but due to the culture of Ghana, many dishes are vegetarian. They are full of fresh local produce eg fruit for breakfast and vegetables in the dinners as well as salads at lunches. The staff try their hardest to show the most of the food Ghana has to offer. 
 
Before coming to Ghana, I may have not chosen to work with VWA if I was planning my own trip as I would have thought I was too busy to to enjoy the country and relax in my surroundings but I would have missed a valuable opportunity. I wouldn't have seen 90% of what I have experienced and I wouldn't have seen things that will adapt how I will live my life when I get home. 
 
I cannot recommend Volunteer West Africa enough and I am so thankful to the whole team!" 
Posted on 15/09/2017

Toni - UK

I spent just over 3 weeks working with PWA on the malaria prevention programme...The PWA team can help to tailor your programme to include any areas of expertise or interest, to result in the most valuable placement for your time here.

Posted on 08/09/2017

Chillie S. Amuzu

I'm 30 years and I respond to the name Chillie. I'm a Ghanaian and a third-year student at the University College of Management Studies (UCOMS)-Accra, Ghana.

Posted on 04/09/2017

Larissa - UK

I came to Ghana unsure what to expect and scared whether I would like it or not, but I have had the most amazing two months of my life and wouldn’t change anything.

Posted on 02/09/2017

Prosper Leo Dadzawa - Ghana

My [2 months] volunteer work with Partner West Africa (PWA), offered me an insight about what they do.  My motivation when I was ‘searching’ for an organization to do voluntary work with was just fulfilling my passion to serve humanity, having just come from early retirement.

Posted on 05/08/2017

Lucy - UK

I spent three weeks volunteering with Partner West Africa, and they were some of the best weeks of my life?! I have made some amazing friends, and most importantly I feel the work I have put time into has made an impact. The more you put in, the more you get out, and if you are willing to work hard and are passionate about seeing good changes, then volunteering with PWA is sure to be a rewarding experience.

Posted on 05/08/2017

Juliet - UK

My three weeks volunteering with Partner West Africa have been amazing and I wish it wasn’t over so soon! I can’t recommend PWA enough to anyone looking for a volunteering opportunity that’s ethically sound and tailored to your individual strengths.

Posted on 10/05/2017

Photo Memory from Daisy

See what memory Daisy has chosen to go with her photo...

Posted on 06/05/2017

Victor - Germany

Hello, my name is Victor Garcia and I am 28 years old. I am a Telecommunication Engineer, currently working in Germany...As an engineer my main task here was to install and configure the laptops that Partner West Africa had received from donations in the UK...if you are looking for a volunteer project and have no idea where to go, come to Partner West Africa in Ghana?...you will not regret it.

Posted on 20/04/2017

Photo Memory from Olivia

See what memory Olivia has chosen to go with her photo...

Posted on 05/04/2017

Sarah - UK

After a series of events and with the support of some special people I finally had the opportunity to become a volunteer. Although I had been looking at organisations for a while choosing the right one now became very important. Partner West Africa (PWA) became the choice for me…I love working with children yet was very conscious of volunteers being helpful long term and not simply 'there for a cuddle'. The chance to become involved in an education programme seemed perfect and PWA offered this.

Posted on 09/03/2017

Beatrice - Nigeria

I want to appreciate Partner West Africa for giving me the opportunity to volunteer with them. I volunteered as part of the Monitoring and Evaluation team. It was a sky-blue thinking experience for me. I have learnt and improved on my skills in monitoring and evaluation and I learnt a lot about working in the field.

Posted on 21/02/2017

Victor's First Week Volunteering with PWA

The main ‘problem’ of volunteering with Partner West Africa is that...the group of people who meet you and will take care of you for the next few months is so welcoming and easy-going that you feel you haven’t left your home! You’re not in a foreign place, you’re just at home!

Posted on 20/02/2017

Tom - UK

Overall I’ve really enjoyed my time in Ghana. It’s always nice experiencing a new culture and meeting local people as well as volunteers from the rest of the world. The staff and other volunteers made me feel welcome straight away and pretty quickly I was going down to the bar to watch the football and jumping in tro-tros on my own.

Posted on 16/01/2017

Jackie - UK

Never have I felt so welcome somewhere as I have in Ghana. From the smiling children’s faces that greet you first thing at the Partner West Africa Nursery and Daycare Centre for Vulnerable Children, to the daily hello’s when you walk (or run!) through the community, to the fun I have had with new friends in the house; these all meant I quickly felt at ease and at home here.

Posted on 03/01/2017

Rosie - UK

Hi, my name is Rosie and I have spent two weeks volunteering with Partner West Africa (PWA) in the summer before my final year at university. I chose PWA because of its variety of projects to get involved with which many other NGOs don’t offer...Thank you PWA for giving me opportunities and memories which will last a lifetime!

Posted on 21/12/2016

Rachel - Netherlands

Hi! I'm Rachel, a 17-year-old girl from the Netherlands. The main focus of my volunteer project was helping out in the PWA Daycare and Nursery Centre for Vulnerable Children. By teaching creative arts and crafts lessons every Friday morning I was able to add something to their curriculum and to give the teachers an idea of possible creative activities.
 
I had the most amazing 12 weeks ever, and I'm never going to forget this.
Posted on 08/12/2016

Lucy - UK

Volunteering in Ghana has been an experience that is hard to sum up. It was often challenging, but immensely rewarding from both a work and personal perspective.  Partner West Africa has a great variety of projects, so there were so many different things that happened in the NGO in my 3 months, which made it a very exciting place to be.

Posted on 28/11/2016

Emma - UK

My five weeks volunteering with Partner West Africa in Ghana working on the Malaria Prevention Programme has definitely been an experience I will never forget. It was extremely rewarding to carry out this very hands-on work with such immediate benefits for the local communities.

Posted on 11/11/2016

Erica - Myanmar

I landed in Ghana on the 2nd of August not knowing what to expect from the next 6 weeks of my life. I would say this has been one of the most eye-opening volunteering experiences I have ever had. The local village of Oshieye near to where PWA is based, is a community I am still trying to figure out. Despite being a peri-urban community, I don't think I have seen so much love, appreciation and acceptance in such impoverished conditions; the sense of community and togetherness is overwhelming.

Posted on 10/11/2016

Josh - UK

I have had a great experience working at Partner West Africa for the past 6 weeks, it is a great place to volunteer. They do a great job of balancing work and play creating a fun and rewarding experience, which can't be beaten!

Posted on 09/11/2016

Alex - UK

We have had a hugely varied and insightful time here in Ghana, doing work right in the heart of the local communities with the invaluable support of the PWA team here at the volunteer guesthouse...As horrendously cliché as it sounds, this placement at PWA has definitely helped me to grow as a person. It has given me invaluable experience working in developing communities, even if the project ended up using less engineering expertise that planned, we followed the need, and so it has been clear throughout that all the work we do is directly for the benefit of the local community.

Posted on 10/10/2016

Ciara - UK

My time volunteering with Partner West Africa, although brief, has been an extremely varied and exciting experience...I have had an incredible time in Ghana and am in no doubt that PWA does invaluable work, both in running the PWA Nursery and Daycare Centre for Vulnerable Children and in the other volunteer programmes I was involved in.

Posted on 02/10/2016

Diana - Netherlands

During my two weeks of volunteer placement with Partner West Africa I worked on the Malaria Prevention Programme. We ran community malaria screenings in partnership with the Ghana Health Service which involved testing people who displayed symptoms of malaria and providing free medication to those who tested positive; it was such an experience and so different from home.
Posted on 18/08/2016

Ella - UK

I feel as though my time in Ghana has equipped me with a diverse range of professional skills and a compassionate mindset that I will take with me to whatever the future holds...
 
Thank you VWA for a once in a lifetime opportunity!
Posted on 18/08/2016

Jess - UK

Throughout our trip, we did lots of new and exciting things and met some great people along the way. Our project work focused on giving the children at the PWA Daycare and Nursery Centre an opportunity to engage in sports activities, as this is something that is new for the centre's curriculum development.

I have had a very humbling experience and have felt very safe staying with PWA and there is nothing I would change about my experience and would definitely recommend PWA to anyone else interested in volunteering!

Posted on 18/08/2016

Lois - UK

Before arriving I didn't know what to expect and was walking into something I had never done before but had always wanted to do. I am so thankful for Partner West Africa for giving me the chance to have such an incredible experience, which I will cherish for a life-time.

 

 

Posted on 05/08/2016

Ebun - UK

Hello, I'm Ebun, and have just finished 3 weeks volunteering with Partner West Africa. This volunteer experience has been very beneficial to me as it has given me additional practical experience alongside the experience provided during my social work training course. I believe the experience will enhance my employment opportunities as it has enabled me to develop my social work values such as anti-oppression practice and diversity as I was working within a different cultural setting with limited resources and infrastructure.

Posted on 25/07/2016

Jackie - UK

My visit to Partner West Africa (PWA) was a professional one. I have been a trustee for PWA for a year, and although I obviously know what happens in Ghana, I wanted to see it for myself, to visit the projects, and get a feel for it all first hand. Not a day has gone past since my return that I have not thought about my time in Ghana and wished I was back there. Two weeks is not enough. It was the most amazing, rewarding experience I have had and I hope to return as soon as I can. 

Posted on 16/07/2016

Debbie - UK

I visited Partner West Africa in early July for a two week volunteer placement, in that time I cannot believe how much we have achieved and fitted in!

I have to say I was really impressed with how forward thinking PWA is in not only ensuring that volunteers that visit with them are given a safe and clean environment but always trying to grow in an innovative way to provide better and better services to even more communities in the area. For me, it was great to come to a volunteer project where we all had a role to complete and were embedded into the staff team fully.

 

 

Posted on 13/07/2016

Penny - UK

Not your typical volunteer, I decided to come to Ghana at a time of life that most people have decided to retire. I am so glad that I chose Partner West Africa, almost by accident I stumbled across a charity that values its volunteers equally with the work that they do.

I will leave Ghana all the richer for this experience and I have nothing but admiration for PWA's team and the work that they do.

 

Posted on 24/05/2016

Daisy - UK

Ghana with PWA was a place where no smile is false, everybody seems to care and everybody wants you to feel safe and loved. My trip to Ghana has inspired me to take a gap year and try to help those with disabilities as much as I possibly can.

Posted on 01/05/2016

Chris - UK

So, after 5 weeks with Partner West Africa it's time for me to return to the UK. Whilst looking forward to seeing friends and family it is with some reluctance that I leave after having the most amazing time in this incredible country.

Posted on 30/04/2016

Juliet - Netherlands

Hi, I'm Juliet from the Netherlands. I've just finished 8 weeks of working with Partner West Africa. It was my first experience as a volunteer and the first time in Africa. I helped at the PWA Daycare and Nursery Centre. The most important lesson I've learned is that you should be happy with the things you have got. These children don't even have a mattress to sleep on at home and live with their whole, usually large, families in one room. and yet they are still smiling the whole day!

Posted on 29/02/2016

Taylah - Australia

Hi, I'm Taylah and I recently spent three weeks volunteering with Partner West Africa. I am a Science student from Australia.  My major is in pathology so I worked with PWA to plan and start to implement their Malaria Prevention Programme.  I cannot believe that I am not in Ghana anymore. It seems that all of the past volunteers say this, but it is true that my time volunteering flew by so quickly

Posted on 17/01/2016

Sophie (the Serial Volunteer!) - UK

I've volunteered with Volunteer West Africa before so I knew what an amazing experience it would be...Even though PWA is still a relatively young organisation, their care for the volunteers and professionalism is wise beyond their years. You're a fully functioning part of the team and the unique knowledge and skills each volunteer brings is treated like a prized asset.

Posted on 24/09/2015

Elaine - UK

Confining 2 months into a small testimony is very difficult! One of the reasons that I joined Engineers without Borders was to gain experience in International Development, as I have been considering working in that field as an engineer in the future. My time at PWA has given me a real insight into both the positive and difficult aspects of working as part of an NGO and has been such valuable work experience. I would thoroughly recommend Partner West Africa to anyone interested in working in International Development in the future.

Posted on 23/09/2015

Milla - Finland

Wow, I cannot believe my five weeks of volunteering for Partner West Africa (PWA) in Ghana are almost over! It is such a cliché but my time here has gone by very fast. At first, many things felt quite overwhelming and I did not know whether I liked it or not, but soon enough I became very fond of this place, and now I am sad to leave it behind.

Posted on 23/09/2015

Andrew - UK

Hi, I'm Andrew, I'm one of the engineering students who came to Partner West Africa (PWA) through the charity Engineers Without Borders this August. It was my first time in Africa so I didn't really know what to expect other than colourful fabric and groovy dancing! Our main project here was a rain water harvesting project although during our time we have been involved in so much more, including the on-site daycare & nursery for vulnerable children.

Posted on 23/09/2015

Jake - UK

It has been a pleasure and a fantastic opportunity to spend the past 8 weeks volunteering with Partner West Africa in the local community of Oshieye and Kokrobite. As part of the Engineers Without Borders team, my project of looking at rainwater harvesting was quite different to the programmes PWA typically offers, but we still received an incredible amount of tailored and dedicated support from the team. This was my first experience volunteering abroad with an NGO, and I feel lucky that the organisation we chose does such great work for the community and truly values the skills you can offer.

Posted on 14/09/2015

Dr. Danielle Wain Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in Water Quality Engineering - University of Bath, UK

In August 2015, I visited the Partner West Africa (PWA) compound for one week to work with a team of Engineers Without Borders from the University of Bath who were spending nine weeks in Ghana this summer. I am sorry that my schedule constraints kept me from staying longer in Ghana. Hopefully this will be the beginning of a continued partnership between PWA and the Bath EWB group and that I will have the opportunity to visit again in the future for a longer period to really see the critical work that PWA is doing for the children in the local communities.

Posted on 14/09/2015

Lucy & Nathan - UK

The following provide highlights and extracts from the combined testimonies of Lucy & Nathan, a fantastically talented and charming husband and wife team, describing during their time volunteering with Partner West Africa through their internal volunteering department: Volunteer West Africa this Summer of 2015.

Posted on 12/09/2015

Sophie - UK

The last 5 weeks at Partner West Africa (PWA) have certainly been an unforgettable experience. Having never travelled by myself before, let alone volunteered I was extremely apprehensive about the whole idea. I had been extensively researching into opportunities to volunteer in the field of child rights for the summer before going into my final year at University and came across PWA's internal volunteering department: Volunteer West Africa. With the knowledge that that my money was going directly to benefiting the children combined with speaking to Matt (PWA's director) and a previous PWA volunteer, I felt PWA was the place for me.

Posted on 11/09/2015

Iniye - Nigeria

Volunteering is honestly something I ordinarily would have never considered because of the fact that many volunteering organisations in Africa exploit the people they are supposed to help. But I came across Partner West Africa in my University in Birmingham and after going through the website and speaking to the Director Matt, through multiple emails, I came to the conclusion that it was something that could be worth doing.

Posted on 12/08/2015

Izzy & Eleanor - UK

Read about Izzy and Eleanor's thoughts about volunteering in Ghana with Partner West Africa through their internal volunteering department: Volunteer West Africa.

Posted on 09/08/2015

Hilary - UK

Thanks so much for having me! Seeing the work Partner West Africa do and the obvious impact it is having in the local communities in Ghana was truly inspiring. Overall I cannot think of a single criticism of Partner West Africa... just keep up the amazing work and I would love to be back soon!

Posted on 09/08/2015

Rita - Ghana

What Partner West Africa (PWA) has going on here in Ghana is really great!

Posted on 09/08/2015

Chloe - UK

The Partner West Africa team has managed to give us a really special insight into the important work they do and the positive impact that that work is having on the local community. 

Posted on 09/08/2015

Daisy - Scotland

Thank you so much to the Partner West Africa team for giving me and my fellow volunteers this amazing opportunity- we've had the best time ever!

Posted on 09/08/2015

Sam - UK

I'm really struggling to think of anything that Partner West Africa (PWA) could improve on, which is unhelpful feedback I guess! Thanks to the PWA team!

Posted on 09/08/2015

David - UK

This first weekend with Partner West Africa (PWA) has been filled with educational insight into the work they do and the fantastic impact it has on the local community. The way PWA projects are carried out impact the lives of the local community in a very practical and useful way which is what development organisations and NGOs should all be about!

Posted on 09/08/2015

Mel - Germany

I had a great time staying at Partner West Africa!

Posted on 09/08/2015

Phil - UK

I'd just like to say a huge thank you to the Partner West Africa (PWA) team for having us and giving us an insight into the life changing work the NGO does in the local communities, it's truly inspiring! The whole PWA operation was very well organised and you could see the difference you were making by the smiles on the children's faces.

Posted on 09/08/2015

Gerald - Ghana

Partner West Africa has a very serene and professional environment?...Simply: Thank you!

Posted on 09/08/2015

Kofi - Ghana

I love Partner West Africa so much that I am actually sad to leave!

Posted on 26/07/2015

Emily - New Zealand

I came across the Volunteer West Africa volunteer department on the Partner West Africa (PWA) website and quickly it became apparent that PWA was one of very few organisations which ticked all the boxes [with respect to ethical volunteering]. With a clear focus on 'sustainable development', 'community involvement' and 'healthcare and awareness' I knew that I had found the right volunteering organisation...I would recommend volunteering with Partner West Africa to anyone aspiring to use their skills, whatever that may be, for the good of children and communities across West Africa.

Posted on 15/07/2015

Katy - UK

Before I came here I was slightly anxious about what skills I had to offer and if they could be put to good use. I soon came to realise that one of the great things about Partner West Africa (PWA) is that the team will utilize whatever skills you have to benefit the community and structure a programme for you that will get the best out of you. The majority of my work therefore was doing the photography to promote PWA's issues, projects and the people they care for. This meant I was always kept busy not only around the PWA Daycare and Nursery Centre but also out in the field, visiting communities the NGO work with and trying to capture the daily struggles local people face, and how PWA help them.

Posted on 17/06/2015

Abi - UK

Partner West Africa have completely exceeded my expectations. Having been here for a week, from the start of my placement here I have been amalgamated into a very friendly welcoming team and accepted as a skilled team member, as opposed to a stereotypical 'volunteer'. I really appreciate that we are trusted as skilled individuals with a workload and are able to use our own initiative to complete specified work tasks and I have been able to get stuck in straight away!

Posted on 01/06/2015

Tyler - U.S.

I was impressed with Partner West Africa (PWA) from the first time I visited their website. Being aware of the "darker side" of volunteering - i.e. 'voluntourism' - it was clear that PWA was something different from the start. The team are serious and care deeply about making an impact in the communities they serve, improving the living conditions and quality of life of children in those communities, and giving those children a strong educational foundation to start their lives.

Posted on 31/05/2015

Susie - U.S.

My name is Susie and I am a pediatric Registered Nurse. I had a few weeks only to volunteer and wondered where I might be able to do some good. I have been involved in volunteering abroad for years, and had been out to Partner West Africa's set-up in Kokrobite last year for just a few days while working with a different charity: I remembered the laid back feel and relaxed atmosphere despite the fact that the community is very poor and faces many challenges, and yet that people were always friendly and open. So I signed up!

Posted on 26/05/2015

Bintu - UK

As I walked through the gates of the Partner West Africa (PWA) compound in Ghana for the first time in March, I was filled with mixed feelings of scepticism and excitement. Here I was, thousands of miles from home, not knowing what to expect or whether I had made a wise decision. As an international development graduate from the UK, my sole desire for my placement at PWA was to spend as much time as possible working within a serious NGO, in order to expand my knowledge in the development field.

Posted on 19/04/2015

Sophie - UK

As my 5 weeks in Ghana come to an end, I'd like to share some of my experiences with you. My background is in nutrition and health so my volunteer placement was designed around this so as to ensure I could be as effective as possible. Training the nursery staff in basic nutrition was a really rewarding challenge for me, as they care for and feed the children everyday and so are ideally placed to deal with nutritional issues as they arise. The training included what a balanced diet is and why it's important; discussing over and under nutrition and the consequences there-of; nutrient deficiencies; and outward signs and symptoms of malnutrition. The staff responded well and so I am proud that I played a part in improving their capacity to care for the children in future.

Posted on 04/01/2015

Holly - UK

This is Holly volunteering with Partner West Africa through their internal volunteering department: Volunteer West Africa.

Posted on 04/10/2014

Alice - UK

Though my aim is to become a chartered engineer in the developed world, I know that I don't just want to use my skills to help build another sky scraper in Dubai when there are people in the world who do not have access to basic human rights like clean water, sanitation or education. And now after returning from Ghana this feeling is ever more prominent. 

I would certainly recommend working with PWA to complete a project, you can see the benefits to so many children throughout your stay!

Posted on 01/10/2014

Shallum - UK

I have always had a passion for helping those who are less fortunate than myself; and I believe that by providing someone with the provision of education, this will give them the opportunity to escape the poverty cycle. I had experienced poverty in India before and wanted to see how it differed on another continent. Thus, choosing to volunteer with Partner West Africa (PWA) was the perfect opportunity to use my engineering skills to help people who are less fortunate than myself. 

Posted on 12/09/2014

Effie - UK

My life has changed enormously after staying at the volunteer guest house and volunteering with Partner West Africa. I now have a lot more friends and knowledge regarding the culture of Ghana. I spent most of my time working closely with the PWA Daycare and Nursery Centre  team, where I have made friends for life. These brave young women and the incredible Project Manager, Inusah are working very hard towards benefiting the children of Osheyie.

Posted on 01/08/2014

Evelyn - UK

The work Partner West Africa do - and was able to assist me to do - was so inspiring, Ghana is fantastic, the volunteer guest house is very comfortable and well-equipped, and the team are the best hosts out there! Ghana feels like my second home and I cant wait to come back and see everyone again. I would recommend going to Ghana to volunteer with Partner West Africa (PWA) to anyone... it was by far the best experience I have ever had (and I have travelled quite a lot!).

Posted on 25/07/2014

Zach - UK

As an independent, no-nonsense, transparent NGO, I absolutely loved the get-up-and-go nature of PWA and the fact that there is simply no room for voluntourism in its busy schedule of developmental projects. Like I did, you can request to start your own project, or you can just join in with an existing one. 

One thing is certain: if you just want to get stuck in and do your bit, PWA are efficient, ethical, and understand what's happening on the ground. They get things done.

Posted on 24/07/2014

Kim - France

Coming to Ghana with Partner West Africa (PWA) was my first ever volunteering experience! As I was joining PWA for quite a short period of time I was worried not to be able to achieve a lot. However, what I have lived and experienced during these last two weeks, all the people I've met, the places that I've visited, and what I have managed to teach to my lovely students, has considerably exceeded my expectations.

Posted on 21/07/2014

Chrissy - UK

Today, I am leaving Ghana after a magical 5 week work placement with Partner West Africa (PWA). I can honestly say that I really do not want to go home as these past weeks have been some of the best of my life. Before I came I knew that I would love it it but I just didn't realise how much!

Posted on 30/05/2014

Matt - UK

Having visited The Gambia annually for the last four years as part of my work for another charity, I was extremely excited for my stay in Ghana with Partner West Africa (PWA). I had an idea of what was in store for me over the six weeks I was with PWA for, but of course I was eager to see how it compared with previous trips a bit further up the coast of West Africa. The result was that it far exceeded any expectations I had. Morally and ethically, I think PWA stand out from other organisations as a charity that potential volunteers should seriously consider. There are a lot of choices for those looking to volunteer in places like Ghana, but I did not find any as good as PWA at really helping those in need in Ghana.

Posted on 29/05/2014

Emma - UK

Coming to volunteer with Partner West Africa (PWA) was the first time I would have visited Africa but also the first time I would have been away from home for a long period of time. Making the decision to volunteer with PWA has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. The highlight, up to now at least, has been meeting the children. To think that these children are from such underprivileged circumstances, they really are the happiest and most loving children I have ever known. They are very, very special.

Posted on 28/05/2014

Emily - UK

The 9 weeks I spent volunteering for Partner West Africa has been an enjoyable and unforgettable experience. Although I was a little apprehensive about volunteering in a country that was very alien to me, Ghana and PWA as a volunteer organisation did not disappoint me. As soon I arrived in Ghana I fell in love with the place, people, weather and especially the food. The majority of Ghanaian people are extremely welcoming and friendly which really helped to make me feel at home. Although there are a few cultural differences between Ghanaians and myself, they are some of the nicest people I have ever met.

Posted on 04/03/2014

Amber - Australia

I have been teaching young children from all around the world for the last 10 years and recently completed a 3-month project working at the Partner West Africa Daycare and Nursery Centre for vulnerable children: this is definitely one of the best groups of children I have ever had the pleasure of getting to know, care for and teach!

Posted on 09/01/2014

Annie - Australia

In an ocean of need where does one begin? With a range of volunteer opportunities available, how do you assess which groups are going to enable you as a volunteer to truly engage with the local community? You want to know that the work that you are doing has an impact from the short term through to the long term.  You want to ensure that your involvement is a contribution to deep seeded change in this wonderful continent of Africa.

Posted on 08/01/2014

Matt - Australia

the time we spent with PWA without wanting to sound cliché, was truly life changing whilst also extremely challenging but in a positive soul building way. I feel privileged to have been part of the work PWA is doing to bring education and resources to the families in West Africa and I can only wish them all the success in the future, we will be back, I can assure you of that!

Posted on 06/01/2014

Nicola - UK

To anyone who is thinking about undertaking a volunteering project of any kind in a country where its poorest people so desperately need support in gaining access to even the most basic of needs such as food, education and health care; what I would say is that, the warmth, love and support I received from my involvement with Partner West Africa was like being part of an extended family whom I miss very much and hope to return to again soon. I have nothing but respect for the guiding ethos and principles that underpin the work they do whilst the spirit and lust for life that the Ghanaian people have is both inspirational and humbling.

Posted on 07/12/2013

Alex - UK

My volunteering experience has been just that, an experience. In a lot of ways it was exactly what I was expecting, but in so many other ways, it surpassed my expectations and has left me with no choice but to come back to Africa again as soon as possible. 

Posted on 17/09/2013

Greg - UK

My volunteering experience has been just that, an experience. In a lot of ways it was exactly what I was expecting, but in so many other ways, it surpassed my expectations and has left me with no choice but to come back to Africa again as soon as possible. 

Posted on 17/09/2013

Suzanne - UK

I had the most incredible stay in Kokrobite with the Partner West Africa team and I have been met with constant professionalism, support and friendliness. If you are thinking of volunteering, and particularly if, like me, you have never been to a developing country before - expect the unexpected. My first trip to Africa is certainly the first of many and I will be returning to Ghana to work with Partner West Africa again as soon as I possibly can!

Copyright © Partner West Africa 2017 
                                         Partner West Africa is an officially registered UK-charity - UK Charities Commission Registration No: 1152479